The Munster (An Mhumhain in Irish Gaelic) is an Irish province, located in the southwest of Ireland, with a population of more than one million people. With no less than 6 Irish counties on its borders, the region is particularly dynamic, highly prized for its wealth of tourism, its warm cities, its wilderness and the beauty of its landscapes…

History of Munster

An ultra-touristic region in Ireland!

At the time of the clan chiefs and the first Irish kings, the Munster was divided into 6 regions, so called :

  • Iar mumhan (West Munster)
  • Aur/Ur Mumhan (East Munster)
  • Tuadh Mhuman (North Munster)
  • Des Mhuman (South Munster)
  • Deisi Muman (area of the Deisi tribe)
  • Ernaibh Muman (Ernai tribe area)

At that time, there were many power struggles between clan chiefs to obtain neighbouring territories. As these conflicts progressed, each of these 6 regions were eventually absorbed by 3 kingdoms:

  • Thomond (north)
  • Desmond (south)
  • Ormond (east)

From then on, the region will be represented by 3 crowns on a flag, symbolizing these 3 kingdoms. Over the centuries, the 3 regions will finally be dissolved, following the creation of an official county system in Ireland. However, to this day, the flag remains the flag of yesteryear.

Over the centuries, the Munster has faced many historical events, including the Viking Invasions (8th century), the Norman Invasions (12th century), and the Great Famine (1845-1848).

During the Irish Civil War (1922/1924), the region decided to separate from the Free State of Ireland to form an official Republic of Munster, thus protesting against the signing of the Treaty of London (21 December 1921). The event lasted only 30 days, and was then defeated by the forces of the Free State.

Visit the Munster

Composition of Munster

Munster has 6 counties including:

  • the County of Clare
  • county Cork
  • kerry County
  • county Limerick
  • tipperary County
  • county Waterford