Leinster is one of the 4 provinces that make up Ireland. Situated on the eastern part of the island, it is one of the most populated provinces in Ireland, due to its numerous agglomerations and the presence of Dublin, the Irish capital where “everything happens”. One thing is certain: this region lives up to its popularity: it has the energy of the big cities, as well as the beauty of the great Irish landscapes!

History of Leinster

The origins of County Leinster date back to the 3rd century, when the island of Ireland was subject to the authority of regional kings, reigning over 5 kingdoms, of which Leinster is a part. Over the centuries, Leinster has become an increasingly popular province for the kings, who did not hesitate to compete for the conquest of this territory.

Today, the region has 12 very active counties, both economically and culturally.

The development of these various urban centres makes it a particularly competitive region, where large foreign companies have come to settle. Currently, the strategic point of Leinster remains Dublin, because of its status as capital, and its continuous effervescence.

Visit the Leinster

Here are the different counties you can visit during your stay in Leinster:

  • County Carlow
  • County Dublin
  • County Kildare
  • County Kilkenny
  • Laois County
  • County Longford
  • County Louth
  • Meath County
  • County Offaly
  • County Westmeath
  • County Wexford
  • County Wicklow