Twelve Bens

Twelve Bens - © Louis-Michel DESERT
Note Traveler's Note
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars 3.37/5 (54 votes)
Adresse Location:
Clifden, (County Galway)

The Twelve Bens (Na Beanna Beola in Gaelic) are beautiful mountains in the heart of Connemara in Ireland. Nature is wilder than ever, and the beauty of this mountain range simply leaves you dreaming. Imagine a paradise of rock, grass and forests still untouched by man, and you’ll have a good idea of what awaits you with the Twelve Bens!

Visit the Twelve Bens

A range of 12 wild mountains

Twelve Bens - 365_visuals

Twelve Bens – 365_visuals

Very easy to come across the Twelve Bens: located around Clifden, these 12 mountains majestically haunt the heart of Connemara. Each mountain has its own name. So, here are the names of the different mountains of Connemara which form the Twelve Bens range:

  • Binn Bhán (Benbaun in English)
  • Binn Chorr (Bencorr in English)
  • Binn Dubh (Bencollaghduff in English)
  • Binn Bhraoin
  • Binn Doire Chláir (Derryclare in English)
  • Binn Gabhar (Ben Gower in English)
  • Meacanach
  • Binn Fraoigh
  • An Chailleach
  • Binn Breac (Benbrack in English)
  • Binn Leitrí (Benlettery in English)
  • Binn Glean Uisce (Benglenisky in English)

Every mountain is an ideal place for hiking. Visitors love the peace and quiet and the exceptional surroundings in which they find themselves during their walk. Whether it is for a real sporting hike, or a simple walk, the mountains offer fabulous and authentic scenery, which is what Connemara is famous for.

Equip yourself accordingly and never go alone. We recommend that you choose a circuit adapted to your level and your endurance.

Don’t hesitate to prepare a picnic to spend the day there: the treasures of these mountains will leave you fascinated, and under the spell of the incredible charm of this fabulous Irish region!

Twelve Bens
Practical information

Address Address:
in the heart of Connemara National Park in County Galway.

Coordonnées GPSGPS:
53.500124, -9.810044 Gaelic name: Na Beanna Beola

Twelve Bens : the map

So much more to discover...