The Dunlewey Church is a pretty little 19th century church at the foot of Mount Errigal. Lost in the middle of nowhere, it benefits from an exceptional charm and authenticity, which should delight lovers of stories and legends!
The story goes that it was Jane Smith Russell who built the monument. She would have built it, as a tribute to her late husband, James Russell, owner of the Dunlewey estate, who died on September 2, 1848 and was buried in a vault in the church.
The church was built in white marble and blue quartzite, local materials, which did not require great transportation costs. Now in ruins, the building is magnificent and has a breathtaking view of the Errigal mountain, but also of the valley and its lakes.
Do not hesitate to turn around it: its architecture is magical, and of great finesse!